This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in New Zealand

New Zealand is made up of 17 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in New Zealand. Information on all primary administrative regions in New Zealand.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in New Zealand alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in New Zealand

There are 17 regions in New Zealand in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in New Zealand
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Auckland Auckland1.444,100Auckland Auckland417,910
Bay of Plenty Bay of Plenty2.259,483Whakatane Whakatane18,602
Canterbury Canterbury3.559,200Christchurch Christchurch363,926
Chatham Islands Chatham Islands4.609Waitangi Waitangi300
Gisborne Gisborne5.46,700Gisborne Gisborne34,274
Hawke's Bay Hawke's Bay6.159,000Napier Napier56,787
Manawatu-Wanganui Manawatu-Wanganui7.232,200Palmerston North Palmerston North75,996
Marlborough Marlborough8.45,000Blenheim Blenheim26,550
Nelson Nelson9.46,000Nelson Nelson59,200
Northland Northland10.140,000Whangarei Whangarei50,900
Otago Otago11.211,300Dunedin Dunedin114,347
Southland Southland12.94,900Invercargill Invercargill47,287
Taranaki Taranaki13.105,000New Plymouth New Plymouth49,168
Tasman Tasman14.40,000Richmond Richmond14,000
Waikato Waikato15.383,406Hamilton Hamilton152,641
Wellington Wellington16.464,000Wellington Wellington381,900
West Coast West Coast17.30,000Greymouth Greymouth9,419