This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in New Zealand

New Zealand is made up of 17 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in New Zealand. Information on all primary administrative regions in New Zealand.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in New Zealand alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in New Zealand

There are 17 regions in New Zealand in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in New Zealand
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Canterbury Canterbury1.559,200Christchurch Christchurch363,926
Wellington Wellington2.464,000Wellington Wellington381,900
Auckland Auckland3.444,100Auckland Auckland417,910
Waikato Waikato4.383,406Hamilton Hamilton152,641
Bay of Plenty Bay of Plenty5.259,483Whakatane Whakatane18,602
Manawatu-Wanganui Manawatu-Wanganui6.232,200Palmerston North Palmerston North75,996
Otago Otago7.211,300Dunedin Dunedin114,347
Hawke's Bay Hawke's Bay8.159,000Napier Napier56,787
Northland Northland9.140,000Whangarei Whangarei50,900
Taranaki Taranaki10.105,000New Plymouth New Plymouth49,168
Southland Southland11.94,900Invercargill Invercargill47,287
Gisborne Gisborne12.46,700Gisborne Gisborne34,274
Nelson Nelson13.46,000Nelson Nelson59,200
Marlborough Marlborough14.45,000Blenheim Blenheim26,550
Tasman Tasman15.40,000Richmond Richmond14,000
West Coast West Coast16.30,000Greymouth Greymouth9,419
Chatham Islands Chatham Islands17.609Waitangi Waitangi300