This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in New Zealand

New Zealand is made up of 17 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in New Zealand. Information on all primary administrative regions in New Zealand.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in New Zealand alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in New Zealand

There are 17 regions in New Zealand in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in New Zealand
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Auckland Auckland1.444,100Auckland Auckland417,910
Marlborough Marlborough2.45,000Blenheim Blenheim26,550
Canterbury Canterbury3.559,200Christchurch Christchurch363,926
Otago Otago4.211,300Dunedin Dunedin114,347
Gisborne Gisborne5.46,700Gisborne Gisborne34,274
West Coast West Coast6.30,000Greymouth Greymouth9,419
Waikato Waikato7.383,406Hamilton Hamilton152,641
Southland Southland8.94,900Invercargill Invercargill47,287
Hawke's Bay Hawke's Bay9.159,000Napier Napier56,787
Nelson Nelson10.46,000Nelson Nelson59,200
Taranaki Taranaki11.105,000New Plymouth New Plymouth49,168
Manawatu-Wanganui Manawatu-Wanganui12.232,200Palmerston North Palmerston North75,996
Tasman Tasman13.40,000Richmond Richmond14,000
Chatham Islands Chatham Islands14.609Waitangi Waitangi300
Wellington Wellington15.464,000Wellington Wellington381,900
Bay of Plenty Bay of Plenty16.259,483Whakatane Whakatane18,602
Northland Northland17.140,000Whangarei Whangarei50,900